Moth orchid

20190916_103014

Most of us know the Phalaenopsis orchid as the moth orchid because they look like moths in flight.  What I find incredible is there is fossil evidence that these orchids were around when the dinosaurs roamed the planet, and we now happily buy them from the local  Woolies or garden nursery as houseplants that are grown in pots.  The reality is they don’t actually grow in the soil in their natural habitat.  Moth orchids are epiphytic plants, which means they obtain their nutrients and water from the air.  Once they have finished flowering I attach them to a tree in the garden where they continue to grow and bloom.

I love orchids and fortunately for me, though not native to South Africa, they love our subtropical climate and flourish here attached to their tree, or dangling from my studio verandah even if neglected!  My art studio is a very special creative space for me, and I love nothing better than being in this creative space surrounded by beautiful blooms.  The studio is filled with orchids of all shapes, sizes, colours and variety which, inspired this painting.

20190907_171837

A cascade of Moth Orchids
Acrylic on canvas
100 cm X 76 cm X 4 cm

 

Leave a comment